Retroactive Sabbatical

The blog is taking a retroactive sabbatical, extending backwards through January. It returns today.

3 Responses to “Retroactive Sabbatical”


  1. 1 Urk January 28, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    yay! glad you’re back. I never did my end of year list, it got too far past it and it was pretty much the same bands I was listening to in 2008. I did manage to get something up today, a short memoir article. It was fun to write. I think I was born to write memoirs, but I suppose I have to do something else so that somebody will buy them.

    I suppose you’ve heard about the end of the world here at Frozen Midwest U? Bah.

    I hope you’re doing well. glad your blog is back.

    • 2 againstacedia January 29, 2010 at 3:45 am

      I did hear about all that. I’m not terribly surprised that American Studies is on the chopping block. To be honest, I thought the whole department would be in trouble, not just the grad program, given the way these cuts usually work. I am genuinely shocked about Cinema.

      Dude, anybody can write a memoir. In the past decade there have been plenty of memoirs by non-notable people that became huge bestsellers. Go for it.

  2. 3 Urk February 1, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Mayhap I will. but I want them to give me a damn degree for it!

    the AMS thing is surprising/not surprising. I’m mad that it was managed in such a way during easy times that it’s an easy target during hard times. & as far as the dept. vs the grad program…I think as far as our faculty is concerned, the grad program is the dept. I’ve never seen much of any attention paid to undergrads in AMS here.

    I’m shocked about cinema too, although that’s mitigated by the fact that cinema was already in a weird hybrid state form a previous exercise in departmental mutilation.

    Ok, gotta write. I wish I had more useful things to say about your posts. I like your policy post question alot.


Leave a Reply

Tweetdex

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

Pages

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

